dnite’s ‘old’ Blog

For my new blog, head over to http://blog.dnite.org

  • Moved Out!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! It's been fun over here at Wordpress.com but I've moved to bigger, better things. My new blog is located here! Hope to see you there!

OpenID testing in rails

Posted by dnite on March 2, 2007

UPDATE: I’ve moved my blog to http://blog.dnite.org and updated this into a real plugin. You can check it (and anything else I have going on) over there.

It’s all the rage lately. OpenID has quickly become huge as of late. With huge companies like digg, microsoft and aol picking up and supporting OpenID, it’s just a matter of time before we’re all basking in OpenID glory and wondering what we ever did without it.

For those of you not in the know, OpenID presents a decentralized universal login. Basically, your URL is your login name. When you visit a site that accepts OpenID logins, you give them your OpenID URL and your forwarded to your OpenID server to log in. Once you log in, your redirected back to where you came from pretty seamlessly. It’s really cool stuff with a lot of potential. It offers a nice speed bump for spammers on a lot of blogs. It also offers a way for people to keep track of the same person across multiple sites. If you have a friend you met on xyz.com, you can rest assured that it is the same person you happened across on abc.com as well.

Less than a week ago, DHH added a plugin to the official Rails subversion repository that wraps around some of the lose ends for accepting OpenID logins in your Rails application. It’s early in development but it works quite well. Pick it up and read through the README for basic instructions on how to get things working.

Recently, I started training myself to do Test Driven Development. I bought the GREAT peepcode screencast on the topic and got started. This means that I’m writing tests for everything and I essentially won’t really look at my site until it’s close to done. So after I implemented OpenID into my new application, I needed a way to write some tests for it. I didn’t want to hammer a OpenID server with constant testing so I wrote up a ‘stub’ that I figured I’d share with others wishing to write tests for their OpenID applications. It’s very basic right now. I’ll probably improve it shortly down the road, but for right now. It’ll do.

2 Responses to “OpenID testing in rails”

  1. vijay said

    It’s nice but i cant understand deeply what is DHH. i need any automated testing tools are their in ruby on rails if so please send me the details to the above mail-Id as soon as possible.

    i need with in a week if the details are not available means
    be frankly reply me because we are using manual testing thats why i am asking.

    Thank you

    vijay.

  2. ravi said

    Hi Vijay,

    I found some automation tools in Ruby on Rails.

    If u know already about this tools then just leave it otherwise i will help u how to use it.

    1. Watir(Web application testing in ruby)
    2. WET
    3. Selenium IDE
    4. Ruby Thread Validator etc….,

    If u want more details then just send mail to me raveendran@railsfactory.org

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

