dnite’s ‘old’ Blog

For my new blog, head over to http://blog.dnite.org

  • Moved Out!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! It's been fun over here at Wordpress.com but I've moved to bigger, better things. My new blog is located here! Hope to see you there!

Rails = Great!

Posted by dnite on July 13, 2006

I’ve recently ‘lost’ my developer blog, and since I don’t update here nearly enough.. I figured I would just add my development news here.. Enjoy!

Last time I left off, I was just starting to learn Ruby on Rails. That was months ago and I’ll tell you up front, it wasn’t the easiest thing I could do. I’ve spent most of my programming life in a very procedural mind set and to have to branch off from it completely and work on a totally object oriented language in a MVC framework, I can just say that it wasn’t easy.

The good news, though, is that I’ve finally started to get it! I, originally, was planning on making a huge, big, awesome site with Rails as my first project. Jump in head first, i said. The problem was, that the learning curve was so steep for me that I had no idea where to start. So I had to change my course and work on a smaller project first. This one’s just for fun. Pretty much the only thing I want to take out of making this smaller site is a better understanding of Rails syntax and everything else. Today was a milestone because I finally work a basic user authentication system implimented and working all on my own. I could have used a generator or a plugin and probably gotten more features and everything else. But what would I learn from that? So I learned quite a bit just by getting that working and things are starting to speed up and look much more promising. So hopefully I’ll have a fully functional site up and running in a week or 2.

That’s about all I got to say for now. I’ll keep this page up to date on whatever I’m working on or if I just feel like blabbing about something (like today). Stay tuned, because if I need beta testers or any other help I’ll definitely be posting here.

Leave a Reply

 
